The very first time…

I have thought long and hard about his post. Maybe too much, who knows. But it is my virgin post and I wanted it to be good. I wanted it to be memorable. I wanted to blow my mind.

This is one of the most non-mind-blowing posts in the history of mankind, but it is a post and it is the first and think that I will just have to pretend that it is good. Could you please do me a solid and imagine the same?

Yeah…thanks for that, by the way.

This little blog of mine is going to track my journey through the writing life. I hope the good out weighs the bad, but artists can’t be chooser’s right?

Wrong.

I choose to learn from the downs and the so-called bads. I choose to have it good. I choose and that is all there is to it. I choose and therefore I am…choosy.

And because I didn’t want this post to be full of literary innuendo I will also post my goals for the year.

Write. Pretty self explanatory. Just do it. Except for Sunday because I need a break and that is just the day to do it.

Finish Intent. Intent is my little pooh-bottom baby that I’m cooking up. I just have to wipe it’s butt a few more times and it will be good to go.

Become a published author. Oh, yeah, you heard it here folks. You will read my books in print. Take that!

Read. Read. Read. I write YA and so I read mostly YA, but I would like to branch out this year and find some other gems.

Exercise. Yeah…that one kind of sucks. Wait, not kind of, it really sucks. Why can’t my body just be slender and fit and look good in everything I care to put on it. Why?!!!

And so there you have it folks, my first post and goals to boot!

3 thoughts on “The very first time…

  1. Barbara says:

    Ok here’s the virgin comment! I’m excited to see you’ve started a blog and look forward to reading it and happy new year!

  2. Warwick says:

    What a fitting beginning – love the tone and the invitation to all! Yes, you will enjoy a visit to this blog. Hope all will share and enjoy the journey with Carol. I know it will be an adventure!
    Just a quick share – I found a quote that struck me hard today (not written for writers, but just as relevant to our craft) – “Personality opens the door. Character keeps the door open.” Just thought I’d share.
    Great time to start – new moon and new year. What could be better?

  3. calensariel says:

    Funny how we all write sort of the same goals for the new year, isn’t it? May be in a blog, in a journal, on a napkin, on the front of the frig hoping we’ll actually read it every time we find ourselves standing there foraging for food. (Wow! What a great title for a blog: Foraging For Food — which could mean a lot of things…) So I wish you well on your new adventure. But do it for yourself, not for an audience and hope a lot of people will read it. If it gathers a following, so much the better, but first and foremost it has to satisfy something in your heart or you won’t keep at it.

    And remember, “Writers don’t choose their craft; they need to write in order to face the world.” (Alice Hoffman)

Leave a Reply

